No matter how skilled of a driver you may be, driving next to a commercial vehicle such as a semi-truck on any of the roads in or around Lake Charles can be intimidating. Given the sheer size of these vehicles, irresponsible actions by their drivers can produce devastating results. Some who have come to us here at the Schwalben Law Firm following a truck accident share the concern that the drivers who hit them displayed actions that seemed to imply that alcohol or other substances may have present in their systems. This prompts the question of whether or not the operators of commercial vehicles are held to higher standard when it comes to drunk driving.
Like many other states, Louisiana sets the legal blood alcohol content limit at .08 percent for drivers. Should one test any higher, he or she may end up facing criminal penalties. However, for commercial vehicle drivers, that limit is lowered to .04 percent. For an average 180-200 pound man, it may only take 2 12-ounce cans of beer or 10 ounces of wine to reach that limit.
On top of being charged with driving under the influence, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles states that a commercial driver caught with a BAC in excess of .04 while operating his or her vehicle faces a one-year disqualification of his or her commercial drivers’ license. If the drunk truck driver that hit you was licensed in a state that does not have as harsh of a statute, he or she could still face a license revocation due to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association’s own standards. Plus, the prospect of a liability claim could exist if you choose to pursue it.
You can learn more about truck accident liability issues by reading further on through our site.